## ORDINANCE No 2016-01

## AN ORDINANCE DECLARING EACH UNOPPOSED CANDIDATE IN THE MAY 7, 2016 ELECTION ELECTED TO OFFICE WITHOUT REQUIREMENT OF VOTE

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF INGLESIDE ON THE BAY, TEXAS:

Section 1. The City Council has received a certification of unopposed status from the City Secretary certifying that Jo Ann Ehmann as Council Member and a Candidate for Mayor for the Election; Larry Gillespie and Leona Robbins as Council Members and Candidates for the Election are unopposed for the three vacancies, only one candidate's name is to be placed on the ballot for each office and no candidate's name is to be placed on a list of write-in candidates. The certification is attached hereto as Exhibit 1. The City Council pursuant to Texas Election Code, Chapter II, Subchapter C. Section 2.051, et seq, orders and declares Jo Ann Ehmann, Larry Gillespie and Leona Robbins as unopposed candidates are elected to the office of Mayor and City Council.

**Section 2.** A certificate of election shall be issued to each such candidate in the same manner as provided for a candidate elected at the election.

on the 15 Tr	ED AND APPROVED by the Conduction of day of	ity Council of City of Ingleside on the2016.
	SO BPOR	Howard Gillespie, Mayor
ATTEST:	SEAL	
Diani	CLESIDE ON	

Diane Hosea, City Secretary

Diane Hosea
City Secretary
City of Ingleside on the Bay
PO Box 309
Ingleside, TX 78362

March 1, 2016

Mayor and City Council City of Ingleside on the Bay PO Box 309 Ingleside, TX 78362

RE: May 7, 2016 City Election

Dear Mayor and City Council,

This letter is to certify that for the May 7, 2016 City Election:

- 1. There are three vacancies for the May 7, 2016 City Election;
- There is only one candidate's name to be placed on the ballot for each respective vacancy occurring;
- No candidate's name is to be placed on the list of write-in candidates for those three offices under applicable law;
- 4. The filing deadlines for placement on the ballot and for listing as a write-in candidate expired; and
- 5. The unopposed candidates are Jo Ann Ehmann for Mayor, Larry Gillespie and Leona Robbins for Council Members.

Pursuant to the Texas Election Code, Chapter II, Subchapter C. Election of Unopposed Candidates, Section 2.051, et seq, I recommend that the City Council by Ordinance declare each of the unopposed candidates elected to office of the Mayor and City Council.

Respectfully yours,

Drain Hosa

Diane Hosea

City Secretary